Food Glorious Food

Mom has been under the unfortunate and most incorrect impression that I’ve been eating nothing but quick microwavable TV dinners. While they’re certainly wonderfully convenient, they don’t taste all that good and they’re not that cheap either. So this post should put to rest once and for all the notion that I can’t cook.

Ok I admit it. I can’t really cook, but it’s enough to survive, heh 🙂

I don’t really like taking pictures of food, so there aren’t that many. Usually I cook with 2 other fellow NUS students. By the time we’re done we’re so hungry we want to start eating, so we don’t usually take pictures. Before that we’re usually all busy washing, defrosting, doing the actual cooking and wondering what we’re going to do with that slab of half frozen meat on the plate. Plus I don’t have the habit of bringing a camera around to cook and eat.

Sometimes, there are exceptions, like those huge 9-10 people cooking sessions where there are more people than things to do. This frees some people to document the rare sight of a young Singaporean who actually has to cook. For some of them, it’s still a novelty and they do take pictures of themselves cooking so they can show their families and friends.

Mass cooking session

Mass cooking session

Here’s an example of one of those mass cooking sessions. Every person you see in the picture is one of our group.

Bacon with egg

Bacon with egg

Curry Chicken!!

Curry Chicken!!

Using some curry powder brought over from SG.

The picture below was when zq and yh came over from Linköping. Eating out is expensive, so we decided to cook.

Fried onion, egg, lettuce

Fried onion, egg, lettuce

Pasta

Pasta

Here’s what we had for dinner, there will be more on their visit in another post. Still have a backlog of posts to write.

A more recent picture. SY tried her hand at making bread. I admit I played no part in this because of a homework assignment due the next day.

Homemade bread

Homemade bread

Very good for a first attempt.

Now for some pictures of my solo efforts at cooking.

Lunch

Lunch

Mashed potatoes, onion omelette, meatballs with cheese and lettuce. The lettuce is really nice. I’ve been buying quite a lot of it. We figured out how to make mashed potatoes previously so I just used the same method. Cooking the potatoes took longer than expected though. Tried to melt cheese onto the meatballs by microwaving them but it didn’t turn out too well. Think I left it on high heat for too long.

Dinner

Dinner

Here’s a picture of dinner I just cooked. Just a simple meal of spaghetti, more meatballs, lettuce which is not really visible, and you can see the corner of an egg sticking out in the bottom left hand corner.

The reason there have been so many meatballs in recent meals is because we have to finish 1 kg of them before they expire on Sunday. A lot of stuff here have short expiry dates so we need to share to finish it. Like 500g blocks of butter and 5 kg bags of potatoes. We used to split bread too, but I realised that if I eat 4 slices a day, it’s possible to finish it.

Finally some Swedish food, the semla. More information can be found at the ever helpful wikipedia.

Semla

Semla

If you think it looks like a large bun stuffed full of cream and covered with sugar, it’s because that’s more or less what it is. I bought a box of 2 at a convenience store to try it out. It tastes like a bun stuffed with cream, no surprises there. I didn’t really like the taste of the almond paste hidden somewhere under the cream.

This period I’ve been quite fortunate as  I have long breaks between lessons, so I can go back and cook something for lunch. Since eating out costs so much, how do the locals do it?

The answer is that there are kitchens in school. I was fortunate enough to be invited to one after a lab report discussion. They cooked something simple, pasta with mushrooms and minced beef, all thrown into the sauce. Very filling. It’s also where I found out where to buy semlas.

I don’t think everyone gets access to that kitchen, but there are microwaves available elsewhere. People bring their packed lunches and just microwave them to heat them up. The many boxes from Ikea which JJ left for me are most useful.

Ahh I miss the engineering canteen with S$2.80 meals and S$1.80 yong tau fu. Here S$6 for kebab and bread is considered cheap.

So see mom, we’re all eating very well here, there’s no need to worry 🙂

Leave a Reply

